top of page

Self publishing, where it stands, now. -Unexpected difficulty

So, in 2014, when I started thinking of writing a novel. I thought finishing it would be really difficult (I had never finished anything, of the like, before) And, it was, but I never realised, HOW MUCH MORE difficult it would be, for me, to publish the work.

Not in general terms. I knew it may cost, but by Gods grace, it doesn't have to, but then I found a website, reading through its terms/etc, I thought 'wow, piece of cake'.

I was wrong. So very VERY wrong.

The issues I have had trying to upload the thing are mind blowing. First and foremost, it doesn't convert and tell you why it hasn't. No. It just fails and tells you to go back and check EVERYTHING in your 100, 000 worded document. Even when the people who work on the website (who are wonderful and really helpful) go through it and fix what THEY KNOW is the issue. IT STILL FAILS TO CONVERT. I seemed to be having issues with the 'kindle-mobi' format.

It is run through an epub checker and that basically gives you a thumbs up. The thing STILL refuses to convert on the site. Another writer who has an account tries to publish it as a test through her account. BINGO! IT WORKS!

Ooooh, so maybe it's my PC. She tries to upload it through my account on her PC? FAIL! The issue is obviously (to me) my account, right? Well, apparently a member of the website has a copy that has been fixed and she will send it to me tomorrow morning so I can upload it. If this doesn't work? I have no option but to go with another publisher, which incidentally, I do not want to do, not only because of the distribution this site offers but because of the genuine help they have offered and the work they put into trying to solve this issue, but I'm SO sick with the anxiety it has caused.

Rest assured, this thing WILL be published on 31st October, but as to distribution? Well, I have to leave it all in God's hand or I'm going to have a nervous breakdown.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page