top of page

If you follow me on twitter? THANK YOU and I ain't selling anything (yet)

So I got into this thing and this thing was fine, until the thing seemed to evolve. I'll explain, here's the thing. Twitter? If people followed me, I was completely happy and so SO grateful, I would immediately thank them. It's just who I am, you followed me? Wow, thank you so much. Anyhow. It was no big deal. I just did it. Even my partner was like, 'why do you bother? And I was just like 'I don't know, really. I just feel the need to let them know I appreciate them.' However. It turns out it was a superb way to connect.

You see, I'd get a response. Sometimes. But even if I didn't? I knew how nice it was if I myself got a response and so I assumed it was a lift for people at least, but if they DID? It started a dialogue. I found I got retweeted and thanked and when it came to the old #FF ? They'd remember me!

Now, of course. This was fine when I was getting 3 followers a week. Even 3 followers a day. My partner laughed, because for me? Even copying a pasting the same message seemed too impersonal. However. As it built and I got to, well, this morning 71 new followers. After thanking the 37 followers yesterday. I thought. A automated response may be called for. So I google... 'How do I create an automatic message'?

Reading the top suggestions I was SO shocked. The question asked. How do I create a message to thank new followers?' One guy responds with WHY would you want to thank them? Followed by the equally puzzling. "WHAT DO YOU GET OUT OF IT?"

I gasped. "WHAT DO I GET OUT OF IT? DECENCY? POLITENESS? But MOST of all. I make a connection.

"People don't like you sending direct messages to sell something."

I AIN'T SELLING ANYTHING! I'M SAYING 'I APPRECIATE YOU SAW MY NAME AND OUT OF ALL THOSE YOU CHOSE TO BE A PART OF YOUR FEED. I'M GRATEFUL. GENUINELY!

Then I realise. This is some sort of sales person, as it continues with

'THIS WILL KILL YOUR BRAND!'

O dear, o dear, o dear old boy. You've missed a trick!

You see, I've learned something through thanking each of my followers. Thanking them opens a dialogue. They can ignore it. No harm. No fowl. However. IF I make that connection. IF I do at some point need to sell something? They will be more likely to try the product. Now, of course, this will come handy around Halloween when I will be selling something. Namely, my book. But until then? I'm making wonderful connections. Don't these people realise, making connections is actually the best way to sell?

As to my problem? I think I need to copy and paste my 'thank you.' But KNOW IF I DO? That thank you is actually not copied and pasted. IT is genuine. I think my arm is still going to hurt. But hell. I'm a writer and it's sort of writing isn't it? She say's with a ginormous monkey hanging off her back. And btw to the blogger who wants to know what I get out of it? I get to be a person and pass on common decency to others. I get to lift them. If they're having a bad day? My words may be the only nice ones they've heard that day. In retrospect. I get SATISFACTION!

It's actually about respect!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page